McKinley Climbs to the Top of Mankato Motocross

Mankato MX, May 15, 2005

The Kato Cycle Club was the site of the second round of the Motokazie Dealer Series. In the ultra-competitive 125cc B class, Justin McKinley was able to win both motos, but not without a fierce fight from his competitors.

Despite persistent rain leading up to the event, pleasant weather on race day, combined with the tons of sawdust worked in by the Motokazie crew, left the track tacky and, eventually, quite rough. The track is part of a facility that is located in the Minnesota River valley, approximately one hour southwest of the Twin Cities. The steep hills that can found through out the back section of the track are a reminder of the national level hill climbs that have been run on this same property. The front of the track features a series of jumps that have proven to be challenging for the top riders while still safe for the less experienced racers.

Derek Garner styles through the front rythym section
Photos courtesy of

In the first 125cc B race, Taylor Kotewa took the holeshot, but was quickly displaced by Derek Garner, who lead lap one. Problems ultimately dropped Garner to 8th and by the second lap, McKinley, James Carsten, and Trevor Baakan were leading the way, separating themselves from the rest of the pack. Despite some pressure on McKinley from Carsten, that was how they finished, with Blake Lawrence and Nick Oja coming in next. In the second moto, Taylor Kotewa got another great start and lead the B class for two laps. McKinley clawed his way into the lead from a bad start and pulled away for the two moto sweep. Carsten was comfortably in second followed by a terrific dice for third with Garner getting the spot over Lawrence and Oja. McKinley and Carsten took the top two overall positions followed by Lawrence (5-4), Oja (4-5), and Garner (8-3)

Steven Riordan ran close to the front in both 30+B motos

The older riders put on a good show also. In the first combined +30 A/B moto, Chris Zurek lead all the way with Mike Carlson nipping Josh Lorenz on the last lap for second. In the B race that was dropped behind them, Ken Papa lead early, but could not hold off Robert Rauner. Steven Riordan was third followed by Clayton Manthe and Brad Cunningham. In the second race, Carlson lead all the way to take the A class win and overall. Zurek passed Lorenz on the last lap for second overall. Meanwhile, in the B race, Riordan grabbed the holeshot while Papa hit the ground in the first turn. Riordan and Rauner diced for the lead, and by the third lap, Papa had worked his way into the fray. The three were close to the end, with Papa pushing into the lead on the last lap followed very closely by Riordan and Rauner. The second moto win gave Papa (2-1) the overall followed by Rauner (1-3), Riordan (3-2), Anthony Lake (6-4), and Cunningham (5-5).

Double wins were hard to come by as only three riders could pull it off. Justin Regensche won the 85cc 9-12 and 85cc 12-15 classes, Mike Graif topped 40+ A and 45+ A, and Joshua Trombley was alone out front in Quad 250 A and Quad Open A.

50cc Oil Inj. 4-6:
1.Cody Bali (KTM); 2.Kj Downey (KTM); 3.Brandon Malean (KTM); 4.Justin Malean (KTM); 5.Harrison Gulick (KTM); 6.Katherine Vanderwer (Yam); 7.Peter Nelson (Yam);

50cc Oil Inj. 7-8:
1.Joshua Anderson (COB); 2.Sophia Johnson (KTM);

50cc Chain 4-6:
1.Matt Tupy (COB); 2.Seth Fischer (COB); 3.Beau Taylor (Hon); 4.John Neumann (COB); 5.Tannor Wolf (KTM);

50cc Chain 7-8:
1.Thomas Bosek (KTM); 2.Derrick Vanhee (KTM); 3.Tanner Anderson (COB); 4.Jacob Paulson (KTM); 5.Blake Peterson (PLN); 6.William Dorow (KTM); 7.Ben Aho (KTM); 8.Nicholas Haut (KTM);

65cc 7-9:
1.Sawyer Brownlee (KTM); 2.Thomas Bosek (Kaw);

65cc 10-11:
1.Kyle Ohnsorg (KTM); 2.Tanner Rinken (KTM); 3.Shane Rhode (KTM); 4.Jeremy Juliot (Kaw); 5.Dylan Wolff (KTM); 6.Slater Peterson (Kaw); 7.Reid Gerhardt (Kaw); 8.Tanner Vansomere (Hon);

85cc 7-11:
1.Dan Greig (KTM); 2.Kurt Ohnsorg (Hon); 3.Nate Stier (Hon); 4.Tanner Rinken (KTM); 5.Shane Rhode (KTM); 6.Dustin Therault (Suz); 7.Cody Slark (Hon); 8.Jeremy Juliot (Suz);

85cc 9-12:
1.Justin Regensche (Suz); 2.Dan Greig (KTM); 3.Collin Cassem (Hon); 4.Kurt Ohnsorg (Hon); 5.William Drusch (Hon); 6.Zac Bongers (Suz); 7.Cody Slark (Hon); 8.Sean Castle (Yam);

85cc 12-15:
1.Justin Regensche (Suz); 2.Jessub Pearson (Yam); 3.Donny Ehlenfald (Suz); 4.Collin Cassem (Hon); 5.Zac Bongers (Suz); 6.Sean Castle (Yam); 7.Cody Lackore (Yam); 8.William Drusch (Hon);

Super-Mini 12-15:
1.Charley Perkins (Yam); 2.Jessub Pearson (Yam); 3.Brandon Stewart (Suz); 4.Donny Ehlenfald (Suz);

Schoolboy 12-15:
1.Adam Warehime (Hon); 2.Taylor Kotewa (Yam); 3.Isaac Schreurs (Yam); 4.Charlie Hickok (Yam); 5.Justin Schroeder (Yam);

125 A:
1.Joe Mueller (Kaw);

125 B:
1.Justin Mckinley (Yam); 2.James Carsten (Yam); 3.Blake Lawrence (Suz); 4.Nick Oja (Yam); 5.Derek Garner (Yam); 6.Chad Kramer (Yam); 7.Trevor Bakken (Hon); 8.Charley Perkins (Yam);

125 C:
1.Nick Ousky (Yam); 2.Eric Ahrent (Hon); 3.Thomas Deike (Yam); 4.Charlie Hickok (Yam); 5.Justin Schroeder (Yam); 6.William Doane (Yam); 7.Adam Koch (Hon); 8.Jay Sallstrom (Yam);

250/Open A:
1.Kyle Love (Suz); 2.Tim Schulz (Hon); 3.Jed Oconnor (Hon);

250/Open B:
1.Matt Foels (Hon); 2.Nick Oja (Yam); 3.Jacob Karg (Yam); 4.Aaron Deer (KTM); 5.Matthew Boe (Yam); 6.Matt Heise (Hon); 7.Scott Sweers (Hon); 8.Jay Slattery (Hon);

250/Open C:
1.Broc Graif (Yam); 2.Kristofer Madison (Yam); 3.William Doane (Yam); 4.Chris Rodel (Yam); 5.Philip Peterson (Suz); 6.Patrick Young (Yam); 7.Paul Young (Yam); 8.Jaren Lokre (Hon);

16/24 A:
1.Joe Mueller (Kaw); 2.John Deotis (Yam);

16/24 B:
1.Nick Oja (Yam); 2.Jacob Karg (Yam); 3.Matthew Boe (Yam); 4.Blake Lawrence (Suz); 5.Justin Mckinley (Yam); 6.Aaron Deer (KTM); 7.Derek Garner (Yam); 8.Trevor Bakken (Hon);

16/24 C:
1.Jacob Warehime (Hon); 2.Adam Koch (Hon); 3.Nick Ousky (Yam); 4.Dan Hansen (Yam); 5.Broc Graif (Yam); 6.Shea Lingle (Yam); 7.Patrick Young (Yam); 8.Paul Young (Yam);

25+ A:
1.Lee Theis (Kaw); 2.Kyle Love (Suz); 3.Jed Oconnor (Hon); 4.Chris Zurek (Hon); 5.Joshua Lorenz (Yam); 6.Tony Hauer (Yam); 7.Trent Fiedler (Hon);

25+ B:
1.Ryan Stevenson (Hon); 2.Adam Johnson (Suz); 3.Jeremy Tholen (Yam); 4.Steven Riordan (Hon); 5.Michael Wagner (Hon); 6.Clayton Manthe (Hon); 7.Brad Cunningha (Hon);

25+ C:
1.Josh Fischer (Yam); 2.Joel Young (Yam);

30+ A:
1.Mike Carlson (Hon); 2.Chris Zurek (Hon); 3.Joshua Lorenz (Yam); 4.Mick Mickelson (Hon); 5.Tony Hauer (Yam);

30+ B:
1.Ken Papa (Hon); 2.Robert Rauner (Yam); 3.Steven Riordan (Hon); 4.Anthony Lake (Hon); 5.Brad Cunningha (Hon); 6.Derrick Boaz (Hon); 7.Paul Ruprecht (Hon); 8.Clayton Manthe (Hon);

30+ C:
1.John Metz (Yam); 2.Robert Westerhou (Hon); 3.Chris Aloisio (Yam); 4.Stephen Stoker (Yam); 5.Patrick Brown (Yam);

40+ A:
1.Michael Graif (Hon); 2.Mick Mickelson (Hon); 3.Mike Mineheine (Hon); 4.Bob Chase (Yam);

40+ B:
1.Scott Determan (Yam); 2.Derrick Boaz (Hon); 3.Jon Holtz (Kaw); 4.Jeff Coulson (Yam); 5.Jeffrey Schreurs (Yam);

40+ C:
1.Michael Janovsky (Yam); 2.Robert Breu (Hon); 3.James Lichliter (Yam); 4.Stefan Burton (Yam); 5.Dan Karg (Yam); 6.Duane Gunderson (KTM); 7.Timothy Boe (Yam);

45+ A:
1.Michael Graif (Hon); 2.Jeff Farnell (Hon);

1.Jeff Coulson (Yam); 2.David Schmiesin (Hon); 3.Duane Gunderson (KTM); 4.Timothy Boe (Yam); 5.John Schaefer (Kaw);

1.Jeff Farnell (Hon);

1.Kristen Oja (Yam); 2.Alyssa Breu (Hon); 3.Samantha Ebner (Hon); 4.Jessica Hansen (Yam); 5.Allison Larson (Kaw); 6.Amanda Wald (Kaw);

Back to Hall of Famers Racing Locally