Medek shines at Grantsburg Motocross

Grantsburg, Wisconsin, April 25, 2004

The weather may have been cloudy, but Bill Medek’s riding shone bright, running out front all day in the A classes. Medek swept the 25+ A and 30+ A classes and finished 3rd against the “kids” in the 250cc A class.

Close to 300 riders signed up for this third round of the District 23 points season, including nearly 100 quads. Light rain and cool temps greeted the riders in the morning. There was also quite a bit of rain in the week prior to the race. While this could be a recipe for a mud race on a hard pack track, it made for ideal track conditions here in the sand, although, as this out of shape author found out first hand, it was very rough by the time the second motos rolled around. It never warmed up much, but the rain stopped and the sun made a few welcome appearances in the afternoon.

Early in the second 30+ B moto, Dave Schreiner (823)
gets ready to taste some Grantsburg sand while Lorin
Wicklund (256) and Paul Spears (671) take evasive action.

The Landmark Masons, as always, provided the food. They have been providing concessions at the track for over 30 years. All their proceeds from these races go to college scholarship funds for five local high schools. A total of eight $500 scholarships are given each year. This unique relationship with the race promoting, Straight Arrows Enduro Riders, allows racers and fans to help send kids to school by eating a cheeseburger.

Medek lead early and often in both 30+ A motos. Behind him in both races, a good battle for second was being waged between Bill Corcoran and 40+A winner, Kevin Schlegel. Corcoran got the position in moto two, giving him the second spot on the podium. Medek used the same formula in 25+ A, leading both motos all the way, with Rory Horner taking second both times out. Some guy riding with the number 9s was seen cruising around during the second moto, but it was unclear why.

Another double class winner was Nick Tachery, who won 16-24 C and 250cc C. Tachery lead every lap of the first 16-24 C moto, but had to work harder for it in moto two. Casey Weist, who finished 2nd in the first moto, lead most of the way, and looked set to get the overall win. Tachery had other plans though, getting by on the last lap for the race and overall win.

The 125cc B class was one of the bigger classes of the day and saw good action in both motos. Andrew Spoford won the first moto and was leading the second until running into problems on lap three. Wesley Von De Linde took the lead and held it to the checkered flag, winning the race and the overall. Spoford recovered for second overall (1-3) followed by Schoolboy winner, Kyle Dehn (3-2), Chad Spoford (5-4), and Glen Wilcox (4-10).

Two riders fight for position in the second 125 B moto.

There were quite a few double class winners, including Dalton Carlson, who swept the 65cc 7-9 and 85cc 7-11 classes, Eric Johnson, who took wins in 85cc 9-12 and 85cc 12-15, John Dehn, who won 125cc A and 250cc A, and Bob Lind, who took the wins in Quad 250cc A and Quad Open A.

50cc Oil Inj. 4-6:
1.Devyn Ellefson (KTM); 2.Carley Lynch (Suz); 3.Cody Luftman (Yam); 4.Brandon Malean (Yam); 5.Kevin Checkalski ;

50cc Oil Inj. 7-8:
1.David Krey (COB); 2.Ian Crosby ; 3.Shayana Wilson (KTM);

50cc Chain 4-6:
1.Justin Evans (KTM);

50cc Chain 7-8:
1.Zach Williamson (Pol); 2.Collin Doran (KTM); 3.Eric Prachar (KTM); 4.Zach Siverhus (KTM); 5.Jackson Melby (KTM);

65cc 7-9:
1.Eric Anderson (KTM); 2.Zachary Trout (Suz); 3.Vernon Maslow (KTM); 4.Shawn Reynolds (Kaw); 5.Spencer Varnado (Kaw);

65cc 10-11:
1.Dalton Carlson (Suz); 2.Joshua Bartness (KTM); 3.Cassie Holcomb (Kaw); 4.Damon Medek (Kaw);

85cc 7-11:
1.Dalton Carlson (Suz); 2.Timmy Mccoy (Suz); 3.Riley Kroone (Kaw); 4.Derek Lilja (Yam); 5.Joshua Bartness (Yam);

85cc 9-12:
1.Eric Johnson (Suz); 2.Dalton Carllson (Suz); 3.Timmy Mccoy (Suz); 4.Derek Lilja (Yam); 5.Riley Kroone (Kaw);

85cc 12-15:
1.Eric Johnson (Suz); 2.Brandon Schlegel (Yam); 3.Dustin Carlson (Suz); 4.Justin Collins (Suz); 5.Zach Krul (Kaw);

Super-Mini 12-15:
1.Cole Thompson (Suz); 2.Brandon Schlegel (Yam); 3.Justin Collins (Suz);

Schoolboy 125cc 12-15:
1.Kyle Dehn (Suz); 2.Jamie Mahon (Kaw); 3.Nathan Rosso (Yam); 4.Justin Collins (Suz); 5.Nolan Erickson (Suz);

125 A:
1.John Dehn (Yam); 2.Ryan Greening (Yam); 3.Ross Thompson (Kaw); 4.Jayson James (KTM); 5.Frank Jackson (Yam);

125 B:
1.Wesley Von De Linde (Kaw); 2.Andrew Spoford (Suz); 3.Kyle Dehn (Suz); 4.Chad Spofford (Suz); 5.Glen Wilcox (Yam);

125 C:
1.Nathan Rosso (Yam); 2.Jeremy Schroeder (Yam); 3.Casey Weist (KTM); 4.Matt Heilman (Hon); 5.Isaiah Belsheim (Kaw);

250/Open A:
1.John Dehn (Yam); 2.Ryan Greening (Yam); 3.Bill Medek (Yam); 4.Josh Patzoldt (Yam); 5.Ted Kraft (Yam);

250/Open B:
1.Tyler Zelazny (Suz); 2.Brian Uebel (Suz); 3.Jamie Koch (Yam); 4.Jim Bougalis (Yam); 5.Jamie Mahon (Kaw);

250/Open C:
1.Nick Tachery (Yam); 2.Stephen Slowik (Yam); 3.Justin Mihlek (Yam); 4.Bryan Belsheim (Suz); 5.Josh Robinson (Hon);

16/24 A:
1.Ted Kraft (Yam); 2.Jayson James (KTM);

16/24 B:
1.Chas Kadlec (Yam); 2.Wesley Von De Linde (Kaw); 3.Steve Waywanko (KTM); 4.Brian Uebel (Suz); 5.Casey Fisher (Yam);

16/24 C:
1.Nate Tachery (Yam); 2.Casey Weist (KTM); 3.Matt Heilman (Hon); 4.Richard Robinson (Kaw); 5.Reid Romer (Hon);

25 Plus A:
1.Bill Medek (Yam); 2.Rory Horner (Yam); 3.Tony Hauer (Yam); 4.Ross Thompson (Kaw); 5.Bob Chase (Yam);

25 Plus B:
1.Jim Bougalis (Yam); 2.Jamie Koch (Yam); 3.Charles Forrest (Hon); 4.Lorin Wicklund (Suz);

25 Plus C:
1.Kevin Dennison (Hon); 2.Travis Butterfield (Yam); 3.Tyler Butterfield (Kaw); 4.Derrick Cavalin (Hon); 5.Brian Erickson (Kaw);

Vet A :
1.Bill Medek (Yam); 2.Bill Corcoran (Yam); 3.Kevin Schlegel (Hon); 4.Tony Hauer (Yam); 5.Ross Thompson (Kaw);

Vet B :
1.Rob Murphy (Hon); 2.Jeff Graver (Hon); 3.Anthony Kroone (Kaw); 4.Paul Spears (Hon); 5.Dave Schreiner (Yam);

Vet C :
1.John Jurcik (Hon); 2.Dave Canadianguy (Hon);

Senior A :
1.Kevin Schlegel (Hon); 2.Brian Fisher (KTM); 3.Frank Barna (Yam); 4.Mike Mineheine (Hon); 5.Bob Chase (Yam);

Senior B :
1.Jerry Dillon (Yam); 2.Dave Schreiner (Yam); 3.Patrick Duffy (Yam);

Senior C :
1.Don Anderson (Yam);

45+ B/C:
1.Jerry Dillon (Yam);

1.Taylor Kraft (Yam); 2.Michelle Schreiner ; 3.Jessica Kight (Hon); 4.Wendy Caswell (Suz); 5.Brittany Daas (Yam);

Back to Hall of Famers Racing Locally